Yatanarpon Web Portal is Officially Launched!

Standard

The express bus started to run on the wavy mountain road. The environment is green, fresh, and beautiful and it was really amazing to see the sight over the mountain road. Yeah we were on the Mandalay – Pyin Oo Lwin high way road. Actually, I have to go Yatanarpon Cyber City and Pyin Oo Lwin once a year in December since 2008 for work. But now, the happening of Yatanarpon National Web Portal Grand Launch made me to travel earlier. Before writing about my trip, let me say something about Yatanarpon National Web Portal and how it concerns with me.

Yatanarpon National Web Portal has been developed by Yatanarpon Teleport Co., Ltd in cooperation with many other local and international IT companies. For its contents, YTP portal invited many local news agencies and more than 30 local media are now providing the news for the portal. My parent company Inforithm-Maze was entitled to develop some parts of the portal (I don’t know exactly which one: D) and to make awareness campaign for the portal. As a person doing PR job at Inforithm –Maze, I have to take the responsibility for portal awareness campaign like setting Billboards, advertising at print, brocast and online media, etc. Now the portal is officially launched and launching ceremony was held on 17 Oct at Yatanarpon Cyber City.

Let me get back to my trip. We got Mya Nandaw Hotel in Pyin Oo Lwin around 8:30 am. The opening ceremony would start at 11:00 am and we were supposed to be at Yatanarpon Cyber City around 10:00 am. We didn’t have much time. So, I asked all media (content providers of the portal) that I took along with me to be ready to go at 9:00 am. It takes about half an hour to get Yatanarpon Cyber City from Pyin Oo Lwin. Ah, you know, some media guys are really sucks. I have to blog about this next time. By the way, the trip was so tiresome as we had to spent two night travelling in a bus.
As a national level ceremony, Prime Minister Mr. Thein Sein also attended and opened the ceremony. The opening ceremony was really grand and amazing, but to be honest, I didn’t feel “Proud” like the other people saying “Oh I feel so proud to attend that national level ceremony”. Ha Ha! But I have got new experiences seeing such as wonderful event and appreciate those who created and managed it. I hope to create like that (may be better) in our events if we can spend large budget amount.

By the way, the development cost of Yatanarpon National portal is around 2 million dollars. Is it worth to develop such a costly portal in Myanmar where internet penetration is very low? Which is more important; having accessible internet and low cost internet or having national portal? And what’s the unique point of that portal? Local media are now providing their contents as YTP news. Other features like social networking, ymail, ytalk, photo, video, etc may not have better quality as facebook, gmail, gtalk and other platforms. Oh.. I don’t know what it will offer better services later.

Oh.. I’m talking too much. Pls access this link to Yatanarpon National Web Portal.

One response »

  1. I’m also glad to see what’s that national portal look like.

    However, the link looks dead, or something wrong with that link, can’t go through.

    How come it is?

Leave a Reply

